No. 27 fans travel to Wichita Falls for the Lone Star Conference championships | Tech US News


CANYON, Texas – The No. 27 West Texas A&M Buffaloes travel to Wichita Falls, Texas to compete in the 2022 Lone Star Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday, Nov. 5 hosted by Midwestern State. The men’s 8-kilometer race is set for 9:30 a.m. at River Creek Golf Course.


Midwest State’s athletic department will provide a live stream for Saturday’s race, while MeetPro will provide live results and can be found HERE.


The fans have won the last nine tag team titles and will look to make it 10 straight on Saturday.
Since winning the program’s first team title in 2013, no current LSC team has finished within 40 points of the Buffs. Last season, the Buffs placed five running backs in the Top 15 for 42 points, their highest point total during the streak.


senior Innocent Murwanashyaka will compete in his final LSC championship and is favored for the individual title after St. Paul, Minn., became the fifth running back in program history to win the title last year. He pinned UT Permian Basin’s Erik Flores by 22 seconds to get the win. A win on Saturday would make Murwanashyaka the first runner to claim back-to-back titles since 2016 with ex-Buff American Geoffrey Kipchumba.

Senior Louis Moreau will make his Maroon & White debut this weekend and aims to become the seventh Buff to be named Newcomer of the Year. Noah Bundrock e Butare Rugenerwa have been consistent top runners for the Buffs this season, the duo is coming off a pair of top-10 finishes at the NMJC Invitational II.

Calvin Allen, Adrian Legarreta, Gustavo Posadaand Ruben Denson will also compete for the Buffs.

WT is the only LSC team in the United States Track and Field Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Division II Coaches Poll of Colorado School of Mines holds the top spot in the national rankings after receiving eight first-place votes, followed by Adams State, Grand Valley State, Wingate and Lee.


Following the conference run, the Buffs will compete in the NCAA South Central Regional Championships in Denver, Colo. on Nov. 19 at Washington Park. The top three teams from each regional meet will automatically advance to the NCAA National Championships on Dec. 3, while the remaining 10 teams will receive at-large bids.


Source link

Please disable your adblocker or whitelist this site!